A nice activity using shapes

August 25, 2008 at 11:57 am | Posted in Children's Classes | Leave a comment
Tags:

This month I have been teaching sea creatures and shapes. It’s a good subject for my students, since we all live near the ocean, and many of them go to the beach this time of year. I’ve been using the flash cards from MES English, and Twinkle Twinkle Litte Star from freeabcsongs.com
to teach the vocabulary.

The Shapes Fish

Today we made a fish using shapes. A circle for the body, a heart for the mouth, and triangles and squares for the fin and tail. I always teach the vocabulary of everything before I give it to the students. I also take the time to review the colors, and numbers during this kind of activity. Then I ask the students questions like, “what color would you like?”, “what shape is this?’ You can really do a lot with a simple activity like this, and it really keeps the kids attention. I did it with kids from 2-6 years old. I just learned how to use my scanner, so here is an image of my example fish. I hope you can find some inspiration from this activity to do something fun with your students!

shapefish

shapefish

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.