Raising the Level in Dream English

March 16, 2016 at 6:37 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

If you have been following Dream English for awhile, you might have noticed something different about my new songs and videos. While I still use and love the older songs like the “Hello Song”, “Days of the Week”, and “Let’s Count 1 to 10” to name a few, I have been working hard to increase the overall educational level of the songs.

Why?

Great question! I found after years of teaching that my students were not retaining enough, because I was not presenting enough material for them. Children are amazing, and can learn so much, so quickly! But, you have to give them the opportunity. So I started increasing the vocabulary in a song from an average of about 6 words to 12 or more.

I have also been doing a lot of reading and research into SLA (Second Language Acquisition). The ideas I have learned, supported by scientific research, have been really helpful. For example, my songs now repeat a second time at a faster pace. I do this, because children need fluency practice, which this helps with. Also, the repetition helps the children learn the vocabulary and phrases in a way that enables them to  become automatic with the language. That is the goal! Say that three times with me, “Automatic, Automatic, Automatic!” Speaking and conversing in English without the need to stop and think about every word or phrase.  Like we practice a sport, repetition makes perfect.

I’m trying my best to raise the level of the Dream English songs. Both on my side, the producing side, and for the benefit of the learners. Thanks for your support in this!

If you would like to watch some of the new videos with these methods click here.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations on your work, Matt. Your thoroughness attittude and your creativity are present in your work day after day, song after song. You help us so much in our daily task with children. THANKS!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.