Valentine’s Day Lesson and Song

February 11, 2009 at 1:48 am | Posted in Children's Classes | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I personally don’t spend a lot of time teaching Valentine’s, but you can definitely have a fun lesson based around Valentine’s Day. I teach the basic vocabulary, which you can do using the MES Englsih flashcards pictured here. Then I have some fun with having the kids make a heart with their hands “make a big heart, make a small heart” etc. Next, we make a fun little Valentine’s day card. Again, the MES English link above will lead you to some nice coloring sheets.

Skidamarink

I don’t really remember this song from when I was a kid but it seems every English school I have taught in Japan has their own version of this fun Traditional song. I made my own version, and made a fun part in the middle “make a heart with your hands”. So it’s fun and easy for the kids. In case you were wondering, Skidamarink doesn’t mean anything. I just do a fun dance, and since I probably will only sing this song once or twice with the kids, I don’t focus too much on them singing it. But, they will learn how to say, ” I love you!” which is nice. Check out Skidamarink here, and Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

