Great idea for Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes

November 13, 2008 at 3:15 am | Posted in Children's Classes | 2 Comments
Tags:

Kids love to sing Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes.  It is simple, and fun. If you don’t know the song, you can check out my free version here. Basically you sing the song and touch the body part that you are singing. I use it often as a warm up, and I always vary the speed. First I do it slow, then I ask the students, “faster?” and of course they say yes, and we do it faster. This goes on a few times until it is way too fast, but the kids are having a blast.

A new idea

I got this idea from my friend Mayumi, a teacher in Japan. She sings the song and then tells the students, “ok, this time lets sing it without saying head” and the students have to sing the song and not say or touch their head. Next, she makes it more complicated, “this time let’s not sing knees or eyes!” Then they have to sing the song but leave out knees and eyes. I haven’t tried this yet, but she says the kids love it, and I’m sure they do. Thanks Mayumi for the great idea!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ciao from Iatly!
    I also do this with that song (especially when I can’t ply my guitar): we sing it many times and every time we withdrawl a word, so at the end there wil be a ‘silent version? (just gestures..funny!!) and students are sooo attentive!!
    Thanks for the precious BLOG!!
    smiles Eliana

  2. Hi Eliana,

    Thanks for your comment! Great idea. I tried something similar where I asked the students what to leave out next, and they loved it!
    Matt


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

