Becoming a Better Teacher

October 16, 2008 at 12:18 pm | Posted in Children's Classes | 4 Comments
Tags:

Today I was sitting at a computer that I usually don’t use, and checked out my website. I found a few things that needed fixing that I hadn’t seen before. It was this new perspective (browser) that let me see things in a new way. This got me thinking that every once in awhile it seems like a good idea to take a look at what you are doing in a different light, to see if some improvements can be made.

Being your own Teacher

If you are like me you may teach alone a lot, and don’t have the benefit of peers to help you improve your craft. So every once in awhile it’s a good idea, I think, to take a hard look at what we are doing and see if there are some places for improvement. I thought about this today, and realized that I could improve my writing…. I have very bad hand writing to be honest. I have been working at it, but it is one thing as a teacher that I can improve upon.

I think these kinds of realizations can make us better teachers, not only because we improve ourselves, but also because we can remember what it is like to learn and be more patient with our own students. So think positive and make yourself the best you can be, and your students will follow along!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. As I use to say to myself “a good teacher has to be, first of all, a good student”..
    Thanks a lot for your thoughts and sugegstions: they worth a lot! :o)
    big smile from Italy..and from me of course

  2. Hi Eliana,
    Thanks for the nice comment and saying! I am happy to hear my ideas are helpful for you. Happy teaching in Italy! Matt

  3. Hi,
    I have just discovered your page and blog and the system you use to teach English is great!!!Your ideas and suggestions for teachers help me a lot to work with children. I recommended your page to all my friends.

    Thanks

  4. Hi Lejla,
    Thanks for your nice comments. I am really happy to hear that ideas are helpful for you.
    Matt


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

