Teaching I like blue with the fishing game!

June 27, 2008 at 11:26 am | Posted in Children's Classes | Leave a comment
Tags:

Recently I have been teaching my younger students (from 2-8 years old) how to say I like blue (or any color) using a simple fishing game. The kids love the fishing game, so it really encourages them to use the language.

Materials

Make little cut-outs of some fish shapes, and color each fish only one color. Attach a small paper clip to the fish cut-out. Next, attach a small magnet to a string. If you want you can tie the string with the magnet onto a small stick.

How to play

Teach the children the language, ” I like blue, I like green, I like red.” then ask them to say what color they like before they can try to “catch” the fish.

Teacher: What color do you like?

Student: I like blue!

Teacher: ok, try to catch the blue fish!

It is so simple, but I have found it really effective. Have fun! You can also check out my free color song download, click here for the Dream English Color Song.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

