Using Puppets in Class

June 17, 2008 at 11:59 am | Posted in Children's Classes | 2 Comments
Tags:

In the last few months I started using puppets every once in awhile in my kids classes. At first I felt a bit strange, but the more I got into it, the more the kids loved it. The way I use the puppets the most is to have one little hand puppet on each hand, and do a conversation. Having the puppets ask each other, “What’s your name?” or “How old are you?” is a great starter. Next, I have the puppets ask the students the same questions, and the students love it!

An instructional puppet video

I was surfing youtube, and I found this cool video about using puppets in the classroom. These guys take it to a whole new level, with really great puppets and cool idea. It’s from Brazil, and I love the music of Brazil. While your at it, check out their youtube channel. They have some other ESL related videos, and… some Brazilian live music videos!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Puppets are very powerful. Educators have also discovered that children learn much better if they’re having fun, (it’s obvious really) and we learn best through humour. So, have a laugh with your puppets and know it’s not just being silly.

    I believe silly is a serious business, as my latest blog post shows.

    Good luck with your puppets in the classroom. They will become your heroes soon.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

