Combining Basic Questions and a Numbers lesson for 2- 3 year olds

March 14, 2008 at 7:16 am | Posted in Teaching Tips: Games | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

Today I had a fun class with students 2-3 years old. It was a small class, with four kids.

What’s your name baseball and putting numbers in order.

You can read about what’s your name baseball in my post here. Basically, I use flashcards to make a baseball diamond, and ask questions. When the students answer correctly, they can go to the next base. Today I played this game, then asked the students to sit down and close their eyes and count to ten. I already had the numbers 1-4 on the floor, so I distributed 6-10. Next I asked the students to pick up a few cards each and sit down again.

Finally, we put numbers 1-10 in order! This was a nice flow from one game to another, and it really kept the students attention. And of course we finished the lesson off with the free Dream English Numbers Song Download: Let’s count 1-10! Click here to check it out.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really like the number song as well as my 3 year old but…..I/3 would like you to change it to proper sign language! If you need to know the numbers to sign language you can look it up or get it at the library! Please, I’m trying to teach my daughter sign language as well and I can’t do that sadly with false numbers “sign” three is incorect… I didn’t want to post this in front of everyone to see but maybe its possiable other parents will agree! Sign language is supper fun too!

    • Hi Heather- Thanks so much for your comments. I teach English as a second language, and not sign language, so I am not sure if I could do that correctly. I think sign language is great, and I hope to find the time to learn more about it. Maybe in the mean time, you can download the free song, and teach the signs to your child yourself? I hope this helps, and best of luck!

  2. Hello i have a big group, they are 10 – 12 children by group, so what can i do for a big group?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

