Singing Loud and Soft

February 14, 2008 at 11:41 am | Posted in Teaching ESL Songs | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

I wrote in an earlier post that it helps the kids sing better sometimes if you simply ask them to sing louder. However, today I was teaching a group of kids some opposites, one of them being loud and soft. When it came time to sing the Goodbye Song, I alternated between asking them so sing loud and soft. This worked great! When I asked them to sing softly, they really sang clearly. Then when I asked them to sing loud, they had a big smile on their faces while singing. It was such a simple exercise, but the little challenge made singing that much more fun!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have a problem, when I get my kids to sing, they get so excited it gets difficult form me to control them at the end… What should I do?

  2. It depends a bit on the age of the students, the younger they are the more energy they may have. When I sing a song with my students, there are always actions to go along. I try to make the actions fun, but not too complicated. Usually between concentrating on the singing and the simple actions, keeps the kids focused. If you have a moment, on my web page with the numbers song “Let’s Count” I also talk about the actions I use with the song.
    http://www.dreamenglish.com/numbers
    I hope this helps, and feel free to ask more questions. thank you.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

