Easy Game: What’s Your Name? Baseball

February 1, 2008 at 11:42 am | Posted in Teaching Tips: Games | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

I came up with this idea when I was teaching sports vocabulary to a group of three year olds. I wanted to ask them simple questions, but couldn’t get them to sit still! So I tried this game, and have since used it with students from 2-6 years old.

The Game

Set up a small baseball diamond. I use number flaschards, but you can use anything. Have the kids start at the home plate, and ask them a question. I usually start with, “What’s Your Name?” When they answer correctly they can go to first base. If its a smaller class you can ask each student the questions individually. After all the students make it to first base, ask them another question, etc. until thy make it home.

Variations

So far I have only used this game with younger students, but it could easily be used with older students. Classes could be split into two teams with one team being the pitcher (asking the questions) and one team being the hitters (answering the questions). If you try this, please let me know how it goes!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] can read about what’s your name baseball in my post here. Basically, I use flashcards to make a baseball diamond, and ask questions. When the students […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

