Another Warm up for Kids: Fun with Rhythm

January 29, 2008 at 12:31 am | Posted in Teaching Tips: Warm ups | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

I often bring my guitar to class and do what I call “Fun with guitar”. This is a simple warm up where I ask the kids to walk, either in place or in a circle, as I play something on the guitar. I slowly speed up what I am playing on guitar and we chant, “getting faster….getting faster..” Once the students legs are moving pretty fast I say, “Stop!” The students love this, and we repeat it a few times. I always ask them if they want to do it one more time? They have to reply by saying one more time, or I won’t start again.

If you don’t have a guitar, no problem! You can do the exact same thing with a tambourine, or by clapping. Simply clap your hands slowly to start, and speed up the tempo of your clapping as you go along.

With this warm up we engage listening, and speaking skills, and have a lot of fun!

Fun with Guitar at Kids Beat Fukuoka
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] usually use this warm up after I do the “Getting Faster” warm up. Have […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

