Pacing and Class Control

January 22, 2008 at 7:22 am | Posted in Children's Classes | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

I have found pacing to be one of the most important aspects of class control for young students. What I mean by pacing is using the right activities, for the right amount of time, and in the right order. Maybe the three R’s of pacing. An activity can be anything from teaching vocabulary, a game, a song, or anything else that falls within the category of teaching English to children.

If I am pacing a class well, then I will also be reading the class and in an instant I can make a decision whether or not the next planned activity is the right one. For example, if I am teaching the alphabet sounds, and the kids are starting to get restless, instead of having them play the game I planned I might ask them to stand up and sing the ABC song. After they have used up some energy on the ABC song, they will be more ready for the sit down game I had planned.

I will talk more about pacing an entire class, and how varying the activities can really help the overall class flow in my next entry. In the meantime, if you haven’t watched Sesame Street, I highly recommend it. The people at Sesame Street, in my humble opinion, have mastered the art of pacing for Children.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

