Teaching Kids How to Say, ” My name is…” in English

May 21, 2011 at 2:34 am | Posted in Children's Classes, Children's Songs | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

I used to find it a bit difficult to teach young children in an ESL classroom how to say, ” My name is..” and their name in English. Recently, it has become a bit easier. Maybe I am just more experienced now, or maybe it was always easy, and I didn’t realize : ) The best way I have found is modeling.  I use myself as an example by saying, ” My name is Matt.” I use puppets often, and then I just practice with the kids in the class. I help them, and ask them to repeat after me. Some kids get it right away and can say the whole phrase, others I ask to repeat every word, ” My… My.. name… name…” etc.

If you have a larger class, after 5 or 6 kids go through this, the others will follow along! Music and songs help, too! Here is a video of my, “What’s Your Name?” Song:

If you want to share this video, here is the link: http://youtu.be/BAFSTrSNJMg You can also download this song for free on my website, and use it in your classes. So go ahead, give it and try. All the best!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

